You Had One Job

Clothes shopping sucks. I find it fun if I can go with friends and don’t have to be in any rush, but that hardly every happens. One of the biggest issues I have with clothes shopping is the fact that I wear a ten in one brand of jeans, but a fourteen in another. I know it’s just a number, but it still can hurt my self-esteem if that number is on the high side.

Luckily for babies, they have no idea what sizes even are. I know all babies grow at different rates so they may be in a bigger or smaller size outfit than another baby their age. What I don’t get is why my three month old can wear a onesie for a zero to three month old, but can also wear one supposedly for a nine to twelve month old. They both fit Andrew exactly the same way. I can understand if it was a zero to three month and a three to six month, but we are talking about a supposed six month size difference.

People who make baby and toddler clothes should just have one specific child to base their sizes on. There has to be one kid who was exactly in the 50th percentile for every aspect of his or her growth. Every kids clothing company that sells in America should use that information to base their sizes on. Companies for any other country’s kids clothing should use the statistics from their own nation. They should also be sure to update their information each year on what size is exactly the 50th percentile. It just makes sense right?

There have already been several things in Andrew’s closet that he hasn’t been able to wear because I assumed he wouldn’t fit into them until he was much older. I was pretty annoyed when I realized that because some of those outfits are really cute. For now I’m just going to put them in storage in case one day I have another baby boy. If I don’t, then I will either get crafty and turn them into something like a small quilt, or donate them.

Figuring out which pants and shorts fit Andrew is the biggest challenge I have. He wears cloth diapers which adds quite a bit of bulk to his bum. Not only that, but he also has short legs which means almost no pants fit him correctly. Using cloth diapers was obviously my own decision so I can’t blame the clothing companies for that one. Although I do wish that there were companies that made cloth diaper friendly bottoms. If I want to put Andrew in pants that I don’t have to roll up, then I have to learn to make him a pair of special pants called Maxaloones, or buy them from someone who already knows how. I would rather have the ease of just picking up a pair at some local store to save on man hours and shipping costs.

It doesn’t take much effort to put a onesie up against Andrew in the store to see if it will fit him, but I would rather not have to guesstimate. I’ll admit it, I’m lazy when I can be, so if I were to get home and see that it actually didn’t fit him, I’m not going to return it. Most of the time I couldn’t return it even if I wanted to because I’ve already removed the tags and run it through the wash before he wears something for the first time.

Finding out that can’t judge kids clothing solely based on the number on the tag was just another lesson I had to learn the hard way as a new mom. In retrospect, I should have already known that would be the case because my own clothing sizes are never the same. If you’re a soon-to-be new mom and this is something you haven’t thought of yet, then when you go through all those baby clothes you have been given just remember to go based on the actual size of the outfit and not what the tag claims it is.

Leave a Reply

