Just When I Thought he Would Sleep Through the Night

I love sleep. When I can I will sleep twelve hours straight. I don’t like to rely on coffee to wake me up in the morning because either I’ve just wasted my time brushing my teeth if I drink it or I don’t even bother brushing at all that day. Since I don’t use caffeine to keep Grumpy Liza at bay, I need to make sure I always get enough sleep. Getting used to waking up multiple times during the night with a newborn was really tough on me. I was never able to get enough sleep, so Grumpy Liza emerged. Everyone suffered.

Andrew has always been formula fed, so I am lucky enough to not have to deal with cluster feeding. I hear cluster feeding can be a real pain to deal with because you could be up feeding your baby for hours at a time. I give serious credit to all you moms out there who did have to deal with cluster feeding in the middle of the night. I don’t know how you got through it with so little sleep because if it was me, I guarantee heads would roll.

For all you moms who are formula feeding like me, don’t worry I’m not saying we have it easy. Feeding a baby in the middle of the night always has its challenges. Waking up at three a.m. and trying to get a bottle ready is confusing. I’m still half asleep trying to walk downstairs to the kitchen, measure out enough baby water and formula powder in the dark, and then going back upstairs to soothe a crying baby. I quickly learned it is much easier to have a bottle filled with the correct amount of baby water already upstairs along with another container with the right amount of formula. That way all I had to do is add the formula to the water whenever Andrew woke up and feed him. A lot less brain power is needed that way.

For the past week or so Andrew has been sleeping through the night. I’m not just talking eight hours in a row, he’s sleeping between eleven and twelve hours straight! I have been so well rested that Grumpy Liza has been long gone. My husband has even expressed how grateful he is for that one. I stopped keeping a bottle for the middle of the night in Andrew’s nursery starting last night, but of course it was last night when he decided to wake up at three in the morning again.

So yeah I had to stumble my way to the kitchen and fix him a bottle. I was grumbling the whole time. Once he was done with his bottle he refused to go back to sleep. I wanted nothing more than to go back sleep myself, but I had to keep getting out of bed to give Andrew his pacifier. Once he finally fell asleep I of course, was wide awake. I laid in bed for hours until I think out of boredom, I was out.

Andrew did sleep in a little later than normal this morning which was great for me. I’ve tried to stay peppy all day, but Grumpy Liza reared her ugly head a few times. By this evening I was so out of it, I even screwed up dinner. I’m going to bed as soon as Andrew does tonight, that’s for sure. If he sleeps all night tonight, then maybe I’ll be back to normal by tomorrow.

I know Andrew will eventually sleep through the night every night, (unless he’s sick or had a nightmare). That thought is honestly the only thing that keeps me sane during late night feedings. There is one con that will come of him sleeping all night long though. There is just something soothing about rocking your baby in the dead of night. Knowing that time is just for the two of you is special. You can’t help but smile as you see those little eyes getting heavy as your baby is eating. There will be phases your child goes through that you can’t wait until they pass, but at the same time if you don’t cherish those phases while you can then you might just regret it later.

One thought on “Just When I Thought he Would Sleep Through the Night

  1. I could’ve written this post myself with my little one was a baby. It took me forever to adjust to nighttime feeding. I was like you, I bottled fed and had pre made bottles and pre measured formula on the table next to my bed for when she woke. I think it was a little easier for me since I had her next to my bed in a Moses basket so all I had to do was pick her up and sit back on the bed.
    Being tried, for me, is one of the worst feelings. I hate it. It does make me a very grumpy person and for the first few weeks I was practically a monster. It does get easier and you are right, you do miss those moments during the nights where you look down at the little face staring back at you. I especially miss holding my little ones tiny feet in my hand, she was so small and now I can’t even go near her feet lol. I will say one thing though, you miss them, but in a nostalgic kind of way, like yeah it was fun and I will cherish those memories for ever but so help me child, if you wake tonight I won’t be a happy mummy lol šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

