Andrew’s 4 Month Check Up

Sorry I didn’t write a post this weekend. Life has been a little hectic. Anyway, Andrew had his 4 month appointment with his pediatrician last week. I am very pleased with what we were told.

To start off Andrew has really put on weight. At his 2 month appointment he was in the low 20th percentile for weight. He was right on the verge of being underweight even though he was eating very regularly. This time we found out he weighed a little over 14 pounds. That put him in the 44th percentile for weight at his age! All those cute little rolls on him are proof that he is no longer underweight. With the amount of formula he is putting away now, I’m really not surprised that he gained weight. I’m talking about 7 ounces or more every couple of hours. (It is really apparent to me how expensive formula is now that he takes so much of it.)

My little guy isn’t so little anymore now that he is 25 inches long. It is no wonder that he is already wearing 6 to 9 month clothing! He stayed in newborn and 0 to 3 month clothing for a long time, and then went from 3 to 6 month to 6 to 9 month within a few weeks. If he keeps this up, I’ll have to take him clothes shopping before too long.

He had his set of vaccines. I’m sure I don’t need to tell you that he did not like getting shots. For a second he looked shocked, and then he was screaming. I felt bad for him obviously, but I also felt bad for the nurse who gave him the shots. I could tell she really loves babies, she must not like giving them shots that will make them cry being part of her job.

He was very groggy that night. He spent the hour and a half before he fell asleep crying non-stop. Anthony and I tried everything we could think of to calm him down. First we tried baby medicine because he seemed like he might be running a fever, but that didn’t work. Next came a feeding and a diaper change, but still no good. We tried distracting him with toys and singing to him, but those only worked for a few seconds. I tried to put him down for a nap. Then as a last resort I tried a cool bath because it had already been an hour since he had the medication, but he still felt hot. That still didn’t work. Finally, he tired himself out and just fell asleep on his own. That was easily one of the roughest nights Andrew has ever had.

The next few days he was sleeping quite a bit. At least he wan’t crying much anymore. All in all, his reaction to the vaccines wasn’t too terrible. When Andrew had the Rotavirus vaccine at 2 months, he ended up having explosive bowel movements for about 10 days. I kept count, and he had a total of 37 poopy diapers within those 10 days! I am so thankful he didn’t have that problem this time. Cleaning all those messy cloth diapers was really terrible. I tried disposables during that time, but within minutes of me putting one on him, he had a huge blowout.

Hearing that Andrew caught up in his weight gain really put my mind at ease. I am glad he got his vaccines even though it meant he felt pretty bad for a while. At least he won’t have to feel like that again until he is 6 months. Maybe it won’t be so bad for him next time. For the next two months, Anthony and I will just focus on making sure Andrew eats correctly so he can continue to grow and develop as he should.

Leave a Reply

