What I Want for Mother’s Day

With Mother’s day just around the corner, I got to thinking what I want. My gift has already been ordered, but there are some things that have no cost that I would also like. Odds are you will be able to relate to some of these.

I would like a night where I am not the one getting up to care for a screaming baby. A night of being able to sleep the way I had become accustomed before I had children. For that matter, I don’t even want the dogs jumping up on the bed in the middle of the night. It won’t matter if this request happens or not because even if Andrew cries and Anthony is the one to get up and take care of him, I will still be wide awake until I know everything is okay. So maybe I don’t want that.

I want a big breakfast to be made for me. One with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, and toast with butter. I want it to be set up buffet style on the table by the time I come downstairs in the morning, so all I have to do is fill my plate and my stomach. Then again, whenever I come downstairs I have to feed Andrew and the dogs. Plus, I would have to do all those dishes and clean up the kitchen. So maybe I don’t want that.

I want the house to be completely cleaned by someone other than myself. That includes the toilets and the tub! I want all of the loads of laundry to be done, folded, and put away without me lifting a finger. Then again, I am a bit of a control freak when it comes to how my house should be cleaned. I would just end up supervising the whole time. So maybe I don’t want that.

I know! I want time to read some books I have. I want more than a few minutes at a time to be able to read. I want to be able to finish a few chapters at least. Except, if I only get that chance on one day, it would take me years to finish a single book. Maybe I don’t want that either.

How about a nice long bath? That sounds like something that is doable. Some time for just me. No interruptions what so ever. Except, I just remembered, as an epileptic I am not supposed to take baths. There is a drowning risk for me. So maybe I don’t want that.

Maybe I don’t want anything after all. When you become a mother, you give up a lot. Your focus changes, and often times you forget to take care of yourself at all. It sounds cliche, but having my little Andrew is all I need. If I had to choose something though, I think I would go with if he is having an exceptionally rough day, to let someone else take over for me.

That’s it! For Mother’s Day I want to not get frustrated! That may be nearly impossible, but one can dream.

Happy Mother’s Day everyone!
mothers-day-2015-card-verses-2

Leave a Reply

