Starting Andrew on Food

Now that my little Andrew is 4 months old, we have started him on rice cereal. He didn’t quite know what to make of it for awhile. It was pretty obvious he was confused by the fact that it wasn’t in a bottle, and that it wasn’t liquid. He did know he wanted to feed himself though, so as you can imagine he made quite the mess.

The first few spoonfuls that went in his mouth came right back out. He didn’t make any odd faces that indicated he didn’t like it. He just didn’t know what he was supposed to do with it. After a little while started rolling the rice cereal around in his mouth for a bit, and then spit it right back out. It was definitely a good thing he had a bib on, because he sure did make on heck of a mess. After about ten minutes he finally realized that he could eat it. Things got much easier once that happened, although he still felt the need to squirm all around in his chair. What’s dinner without a little dancing right?

I think the biggest issue he had with it was that the cereal wasn’t in a bottle. It was on a spoon. Because he is at the age where he is sticking everything in his mouth, it wasn’t too much of an issue. I’m just pretty sure he wasn’t expecting anything that he put in his mouth to separate (the cereal from the spoon in this case). It was so cute to see Andrew trying to figure out exactly what was happening. I could almost see the wheels turning.

Now the biggest thing about my little Andrew is that he likes to do anything he can on his own. He likes to put his own pacifier back in his mouth. he likes to roll over on his own, he even likes to try and grab my phone (even when it’s not on) on his own. Naturally, he tried to feed himself. This is when things really started to get messy. He grabbed the spoon and started pulling it towards his face. I’m still holding onto it too because I know the second I let go, so will he. He never gets something to his mouth on the first try. It will hit one of his cheeks first. I have to try and guide the spoon to his mouth, but his little jerky movements usually caused the spoon to go anywhere but. I had to get him to let go after each bite so I could put more cereal on the spoon, but as soon as it was within reach again, it was in his hand.

I would have to say that eating rice cereal is one of his favorite parts of the day. He get undivided attention, food, and he gets to try and do something on his own. I don’t mind cleaning up after him because that quality time we have together has me smiling for a long time. I used to think his toothless grin was the cutest thing, but now I know that it can be even cuter when you add a very messy face covered in food!

Leave a Reply

