How I Knew it Was Mother’s Day

One of my favorite jokes is: “Moms get one day off a year. It’s called Mother’s Day, but technically you still have to work.” There is a lot of truth behind that. The main difference between Mother’s Day and the rest of the year is the amount of recognition mothers get on that day skyrockets.

Yesterday was definitely an interesting day. Andrew decided he wanted to wake up at 4 a.m., and of course that only gave me a few hours of sleep because I couldn’t get to sleep the night before. After a big feeding I was able to get him back to sleep in his swing for a few more hours. Which I think I needed him to sleep more than he did.

When he woke up again, he was happy. He was making all kinds of loud squeaking sounds. He was getting his hands on anything he could and sticking it in his mouth, and his drool was soaking his clothes. I decided to look at his gums, and sure enough I could see little indentations where his first teeth will pop out.

Andrew’s happiness didn’t last too long. Pretty soon he was screaming his head off. Nothing would soothe him. He was crying for hours until he was rubbing his eyes due to exhaustion. Unfortunately though he wouldn’t go to sleep. His gums were hurting him too much to let him relax. So his crying got louder because now he was hurting, tired, and frustrated.

Anthony and I were at our wits end. Our heads were pounding from the continuous screaming. Not even migraine medicine was working for us. I was seriously at the point where I was going to call a friend to come take him for a while. Of course, just as I was about to, Andrew finally fell asleep.

He was only asleep maybe 20 minutes, but it was long enough for me to close my eyes and take a quick nap. That nap did me a world of good. It was just long enough to end my headache. I started to feel human again, and let me tell you it felt great. I gave Andrew one last bottle for the night, changed his diaper, and swaddled him. He fell asleep within minutes, and he stayed asleep all night long.

It figures that the one “day off” a year moms get would end up being one of the hardest thus far for me. So far today hasn’t been much better for Andrew. He has some teething tablets coming in sometime on Wednesday, but until then Anthony and I will just have to keep him distracted. I may not be able to post everyday like I would like to because distracting him takes up almost all of my time. I will write when I can even if that means just a few minutes at a time until I get a whole post completed.

Leave a Reply

