Mom in Sweatpants is Back!

That’s right everyone, I am back from my vacation, and let me tell you it was exactly what I needed! Being able to spend time with family that we haven’t seen in a while was great. Especially in the cases of those who had never met Andrew before.

As far as travelling to and from Texas Andrew did really well. We drove (or should I say Anthony drove) about 2,000 miles total. Andrew slept for about 2/3 of that which was amazing. We would stop every couple of hours to change him which worked out well because Anthony needed to get out and stretch his legs anyway. The most annoying part of it was that I had to sit in the back seat. The leg room sucks back there. Being the youngest of my siblings it took a long time for me to graduate to the front seat, and now that I have a baby of my own I had to sit in the back again. It made it easier to feed Andrew and take care of him than if I was in the front seat.

I discovered travelling with a baby using cloth diapers is really annoying. On just the first day of us being in the car Andrew had 3 poopy diapers. I did my best to scrape the poop off with damp toilet paper from the restroom, but it wasn’t working too well because public restrooms use the flimsiest toilet paper on the planet. After that first day, Anthony and I bought disposables to use on the days we would be in the car. It was the greatest idea we had the whole trip, and now I have a whole new respect for my diaper sprayer at home.

We did a lot of fun activities while we were in Texas. Andrew went swimming for the first time, (I’ll write more about that another day), we ate at various restaurants that we can’t find in Kansas, and we went to a crawfish boil.

If you have ever lived in Texas, you know there are certain places you love to eat at. I missed Whataburger like crazy because they aren’t in Kansas. We also ate at several Mexican food restaurants that were our favorites when we lived in Texas before. My favorite though, had to be the breakfast tacos I could get from the gas stations by my parents house. (Yes I said gas stations.) They have the best tortillas, which is the key to a great taco!

The crawfish boil was really fun. Anthony and I specifically scheduled our trip so we would make it in time for the one Anthony’s family does every year. There was a lot of his family there that hadn’t been able to meet Andrew before. I barely got to hold him because of it. I got him for some diaper changes, and I never made it farther than 20 feet from where I changed him before someone stretched out their arms asking for him. It was really great to be able to take a break and enjoy myself, but at the same time it was a little odd trying to let go. I often times kept him in my sight because I felt uneasy even though I knew most of the people holding him had far more experience as a parent than I or Anthony had. After a while though, I became better about it.

On the part of the trip where we went to visit my family in south Texas, Andrew got to meet even more of our family, and we realized he has the same allergies to citrus blossoms that I do. His allergies seemed to be worse than mine though. Within minutes of him being outside, his eyes would start watering, and he had terrible congestion almost the whole time we were there. We unfortunately ended up leaving a day early because of his allergies. We did stay long enough for several of my aunts, uncles, and cousins to meet him. They all told me how they felt so old because I (being the youngest of the cousins) had a baby of my own.

We all had a lot of fun on our trip, but we were glad to get back home. There is nothing like being able to sleep in your own bed again. While I will really miss hanging out with our families, I am grateful for Skype because at least they don’t seem so far away and they can see Andrew regularly.

On a side note, thank you all for bearing with me in my absence. I’m glad to be back to blogging!

Leave a Reply

